surfing walk of fame
the duke
surf pioneer
surf champion
woman of the year
surf culture
local hero
honor roll
huntington beach
board voting links sponsors contact us gift shop
Induction Day
Surfing Walk of Fame

2017 Induction Day

Our annual ceremony to honor those individuals who have made significant contributions to the sport and culture of surfing will take place at 10:00 a.m. on Thurs., August 3rd in front of Jack’s Surfboards (located on the corner of PCH and Main St.).  Later that morning, the inductee class of 2016 will be joined with select honorees from the past 24 years. The Induction Luncheon will be held across the street at the pavillion "Pier Plaza where you can meet inductee's and mingle with friends. The luncheon is catered by Duke's Restaurant and cost $40. per person. Tickets are available in our gift shop. In the 24th anniversary year of induction, the sidewalk surrounding Jack’s is now covered with more than 150 granite stones representing the champions, heroes and legends of our sport.

Sponsored by


Duke's Huntington Beach

HB Conference Bureau (Visit HB)

Huntington Beach Chrysler • Dodge • Jeep • Ram

Jack's Surfboards

Nixon Watches


Shorebreak Hotel



World Surf League


Lynch, Reyes, Hakman, Burridge, Jenks and H.B. High coaches to be honored at 24th anniversary ceremony in Huntington Beach.

Huntington Beach, CA – June 28, 2017 – The votes have been tallied and fresh crop of legendary wave riders will once again be forever enshrined in surfing’s history books on August 3, 2017. Through a selection ballot, a host of respected surf industry veterans, former professionals, current inductees and surf journalists narrowed down a field of hundreds of candidates to name the 2017 Surfing Walk of Fame’s honorees in their respective categories: Barton Lynch (Surf Champion), Jeff Hakman (Surf Pioneer), Jim Jenks (Surf Culture), Timmy Reyes (Local Hero), Pam Burridge (Woman of the Year) and the Huntington Beach High School 50th Anniversary Coaches — Bill Garland, Bruce Gabrielson, Rob Hill, Chuck Allen, Andy Verdone (Honor Roll).

The Surfing Walk of Fame is the only tribunal in surfing to award specific categories as well as require a 10-year margin since the commemorating achievement. This year’s recipients will be cemented alongside past inductees, earning their immortal place in the pavement on the corner of PCH and Main Street, directly across from the famous pier in Surf City USA — Huntington Beach, California.

"With surfing headed towards the Olympics, it’s exciting times for the SWOF as we move into our 24th year,” said Don MacAllister, Chairman of the Board. “The Surfing Walk of Fame induction is a highly-recognized event and we have plans for a new coffee table book to celebrate our 25th anniversary in 2018. We are pleased to have such a distinguished group to represent the surfing world this year and hope to see everyone on August 3rd.”

1988 World Champion Barton Lynch headlines the group following his recent move to color commentator for World Surf League events. The articulate Aussie amassed 17 Championship Tour wins during his 15 years on the circuit, including victories at the OP Pro in Huntington Beach in 1987 and 1991.

Jeff Hakman will be commemorated in the Surf Pioneer category. Hakman won the inaugural Pipeline Masters in 1971 as well as became the first non-Australian to win the esteemed Bells Beach trophy in 1976 during the first year of the professional World Tour. The big-wave expert from Oahu was also one of the founders of the Quiksilver brand in the U.S.A. in 1976.

The always-colorful Surf Culture plaque goes to surfwear innovator Jim Jenks, who conceptualized the iconic Ocean Pacific (OP) label. As a surfboard dealer in the 1970s, Jenks noticed a need for performance-based surf shorts that eventually led to a worldwide movement in surf/lifestyle fashion. He was instrumental in bringing pro surfing back to California in 1982 with the inaugural OP Pro contest in Huntington Beach.

Huntington Beach ripper, former WCT mainstay, tube hunter and big-wave charger Timmy Reyes will be awarded the well-deserved Local Hero achievement. 1990 World Champion and 15-time World Tour event winner Pam Burridge earns Woman of the Year honors. And also in this year’s ceremony, the Honor Roll spot goes to the Huntington Beach High School 50th Anniversary Coaches — Bill Garland, Bruce Gabrielson, Rob Hill, Chuck Allen and Andy Verdone.

Induction image





Surfing Walk of Fame